SMEs and Open Source – A perfect match

I am working as a Manager – Process Engineering in a BPO and I am responsible for the deployment of Six Sigma in my organization.

In my free time, I have been trying to help the organization with its automation drive (We still are a small company and its kind of difficult to invest hundred thousand dollars in commercial software). Everytime I google for any of my requirement, I am amazed by the kind of work that is being carried in the Open Source world. There is alwayswh someone (Or a group or a company) who are working in some specific area in the Open Source domain. For an SME like mine, it makes absolute sense not to invest too much in software, specially when requirements can be met easily with the kind of Open Source software available online.

I’ve have see almost all functions in my organization battling out in a manual environment just because they cannot lay their hands on that fancy expensive software. The only thing they fail to realize is that world doesnt ends with proprietry software – its way beyond that. If they can invest even little (In terms of manpower not money) in exploring the possibilities, they can get decent sofware working for them – at zero cost. But the first question that pops up in their mind – how can something like that be for free – they need to be educated.

Some of the Open Source software I have installed at my organization are:
1. CORE: Open source project management
2. dotproject: Open source project management
3. knowledgetree: Open source DMS
4. Mamook: Open source LMS
5. OrangeHrm2: Open source HRIS
6. phpesp: Open source survey software
7. phpscheduleIt: Open source scheduler
8. Joomla: Open Source CMS

And there are lot of others in the pipeline. Open Source is an obvious path for the SMEs to go for, and sooner the managers realize this, more profitable and efficient they will be. I am trying to contribute back to the community by writing this blog, and I will continue by writing reviews of what I have seen, tweaks, hacks etc. I want others to benefit – the way I have till now 🙂

2 thoughts on “SMEs and Open Source – A perfect match

  1. Gaurav,
    This is very nicely and to the point comments which you have put across. I totally agree that it’s not all about the expensive software but searching new Opportunities or ways to bring productive change in how we work. You have been instrumental for implementing freeware into lot of manual work in our organization. I wish you all the success.

  2. Gaurav,

    Growing organizations encounter teething troubles. Utilizing the maximum of the opensource to do away with the hiccups of manual environment is laudable indeed. You are certainly an integral part of the success story being writen by the organization. It is indeed a privilege to work with you. Continue the purple patch!

    Definitely an eye opener for organizations in the growth phase. Your work does prove that technology can save money as well.

Leave a comment